Seventh Day of Christmas

I am counting down the Twelve Days of Christmas from a non traditional way and today would be the “Seventh Day of Christmas.” Maybe I will learn something new as I try to accomplish counting down the days until Christmas. The Seven Swans a Swimming is for “The seven gifts of the Holy Spirit, the seven sacraments.”

Seven gifts of the Holy Spirit

  • Wisdom – The gift of wisdom perfects a person’s speculative reason in matters of judgment about the truth.
  • Understanding – The gift of understanding perfects a person’s speculative reason in the apprehension of truth. It is the gift “whereby self-evident principles are known.”
  • Knowledge – The gift of knowledge perfects a person’s practical reason in matters of judgment about the truth.
  • Counsel – Also called “Right Judgment.” The gift of counsel perfects a person’s practical reason in the apprehension of truth and allows the person to respond prudently, “moved through the research of reason.”
  • Fortitude – Also called “Courage.” The gift of fortitude allows people the “firmness of mind [that] is required both in doing good and in enduring evil, especially with regard to goods or evils that are difficult.”
  • Piety – Also called “Reverence.” Piety is the gift “whereby, at the Holy Spirit’s instigation, we pay worship and duty to God as our Father.”
  • Fear of the Lord – Also called “Wonder and Awe in God.” This gift is described by Aquinas as a fear of separating oneself from God. He describes the gift as a “filial fear,” like a child’s fear of offending his father, rather than a “servile fear,” that is, a fear of punishment.

Sacraments of the Catholic Church

Baptism; Confirmation; Eucharist; Sacrament of Penance; Anointing of the Sick; Holy Orders; Matrimony

I liked this page explaining the Sacraments

I. The necessity II. The nature III. The origin IV. The number V. The effects VI. The minister VII. The recipient

Twelve Days of Christmas Video & Song

In retrospect I didn’t even think about anyone not knowing about the song so here is a video that I liked of the Twelve Days of Christmas. It is a rock version of the song so it might not be to your liking, but I looked at a lot of videos on YouTube and this is the one that I liked. I find myself questioning whether or not posting these Twelve Days of Christmas entries in my Blog is to my liking or not, too. What I have enjoyed about making these entries is that I am concentrating on the real meaning of Christmas: The celebration of the Birth of Jesus.

Thanks for Listening,

Jeff

Click on any Icon to go to another Day of the Twelve Days of Christmas

 

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in Religious. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

