Lost in the Abyss of the Internet?

Twilight Zone Introduction

Have you ever felt that you were “Lost in the Abyss of the Internet?” I mean with over 100 million Blogs out there in the Internet’s abyss it makes me feel special every time someone visits my site. Then to have them leave a comment to let me know that they were here, and what kinds of thoughts were induced by whatever entry that they read, just makes me feel wonderful and happy: It makes my day!

I have a really tough time leaving comments on other people’s sites so I completely understand why most people don’t want to take the time to leave a comment. But if you really think about what drew you to their site in the first place, you have to admit that out of the millions of sites that they could have chosen, they came to yours. I find that fascinating and very unusual, and quite a boost to my ego when I see their hit on my statistics page.

Have you ever really thought about the odds of a person clicking on your website verses another’s website? The number has to be astronomical about the same as winning the lottery, wouldn’t you say? It makes me wonder, Why does anyone visit my website? I pretty much just write about whatever is on my mind every day, it is like my Journal.

The reason that I make my website public is because if I didn’t I wouldn’t write every day. It is my proof that I am accomplishing the challenge that I made to myself to write something every day. Yesterday, I couldn’t think of anything to say and I wrote: Question About Writing, “I know it doesn’t make any difference what I write about; I am just doing this for some writing practice.

Keeping the idea alive as to the purpose of my writing to “Learn Something New” is always getting lost in the grandeur of writing. The thought being: It should be educational, it should be entertaining, it should be creative or whatever I think it should be gets lost in what it is, and that is very basic: Just to write and to express my thoughts into writing. I am the one that keeps making writing difficult for myself and I just can’t seem to get that through my head and make myself stop.

Thanks for Listening,

Jeff

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lost in the Abyss of the Internet?

  1. Patricia says:

    Jeff you are a very good writer and as long as your willing to share I will always come by to visit
    I like your theme on spaces there really are like the twilight show you never know what\’s inside until you go in
    I have seen and commented on many yours very up front  this award thing going around spaces am trying to duck
    it just seems to be getting a little out of hand like a chain letter I hope I don\’t offend by saying that It\’s just how I feel
    I pray no one picks me for I shall decline I rather keep myself the way I AM Have A Nice Day Jeff
    Pat

  2. Jeff says:

    Hi Pat,
    Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments and your comments. That Twilight Zone in my mind is something that I am always afraid of, because I never know what I am going to write about or say or imply without really meaning to offend anyone. Don’t worry about the awards going around, if you do get one you aren’t under any obligation to respond, and you can always just say that you don’t want to participate in them.
    I am actually like you in regards to kind of keeping to myself. I am a very introverted person, but I try to overcome that tendency and force myself to leave comments. I don’t want people to think that I don’t care, because I do! It is just really hard for me sometimes to leave comments, and to show that I care.
    Thanks again for stopping by and Enjoy Life!

  3. Greg says:

    Jeff,
     
    I have read and re-read this post and have come up with the following conclusion.  Although, you make incredible reference to the fact that there are millions upon millions of sites around the Internet and when someone does visit yours or mine or anyone elses I feel that it is not so much about context as it is that they find your site a source of comfort and credible information.
     
    I know for me personally I must be comfortable with a person prior to me leaving comments!  What drives me to visit various sites is not necessarily the content as much as I trust the source that it is coming from!  Just my two cent thought on a nickel budget!  You have it going on my friend and it is very apparent in the quality of your writings.
     
    Have a blessed and wonderful day my friend!
     
    Greg

  4. Jeff says:

    Hi Greg,
    I really liked your comments and you seemed to have put a lot of thought into what you wrote. Please feel free to put your two cents worth in any time my friend. Sharing your thoughts with all of us is a great way to let us know what you’re thinking and it helps us to know you better. I believe there’s a very caring soul in your heart!
    Have a Great Day Greg and always remember to Enjoy Life!

Leave a Reply

