Our Government’s Monopoly Game!

For some strange reason I keep wanting to write about our economic situation here in America as “Our Government’s Monopoly Game!” You can read all about my association to the game with these two posts from my News and Politics category:

I have tried to differentiate our government from being a business. But in the Monopoly Game the rules are spelled out and we have to play by the rules. It looks like the stock market isn’t buying this bailout (Troubled Assets Relief Program) either today. The Dow Dips Below 10,000 and that doesn’t really surprise me because a game is not like really life. A game is just a game but these are real people and families with no income and out of work. Our government is going to have a hard time getting taxes to pay for this bill from people with no income. 

In the Monopoly Game Rules “The Bank never “goes broke”. If the Bank runs out of MONOPOLY money it may issue as much more as may be needed by merely writing on any ordinary paper.” Although you can keep printing more money to keep the game going I don’t believe that it works that way in real life. Our government is planning on printing more money in hopes of stimulating the economy by buying up bad debt from the banks so that they have money to lend again. Do you think the government’s plan is going to work?

Now they are getting into the real estate business with our money, are you going to land on Boardwalk with a few motels on it? Now that’s going to cost you some cash, and this after they have done such a fine job with our economy here in America! To say that I am extremely skeptical about this situation would be the understatement of the year…My question is very basic, “Who’s going to be taking care of all these bad debt properties? You know like mowing the lawn and keeping these investments in good shape so that they can appreciate in value!

Our government hasn’t shown much fiscal responsibility with how they are spending our money lately, and just look at how they have handle almost everything they are involved in like our courts, up holding the law, Social Security, Medicare, immigration, banking, education, the economy, jobs and the list goes on and on. If our government can’t do its job what are we going to do about it? I think that if our government wants to operate like a business than somebody needs to “GET IT TOGETHER” or “GET FIRED!”

Thanks for Listening,

       Jeff        

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our Government’s Monopoly Game!

  1. Patricia says:

    LOL Oh Jeff that was a excellent post and a great analogy between the twoI love the way you write Hugs Pat

  2. Jeff says:

    Hi Pat,
    I think you have the right idea about this whole situation with the “laughing out loud“…The alternative is to cry and be upset about the way things seem to be here in America and I don’t believe that really helps anyone. I am so happy that you liked my post and I just wish that I had more answers instead of just posing questions as to what I can do about what is going on with our government. Thank you for stopping by and for sharing your thoughts with all of us with your comments.
    Enjoy Life!

  3. Pingback: World’s Monopoly Game: America’s Debt! | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

Leave a Reply

