Last name is Required!

Unless you are going to be sending me a check or a prize or something: Why is it that my “Last name is Required!” I have created a persona, a mere façade for myself here in Windows Live Spaces. I’m not a fugitive of justice and I’m not trying to hide anything from anyone, but I just feel uncomfortable using my real last name on the Internet. Is there anything wrong with that? I haven’t lied about what my last name is while registering my account here with Microsoft and Windows Live. It’s no different than an author using a pen name to write a book, or me for personal reasons, not wanting to use my last name posted on my Windows Live Spaces site.

I use the pseudonym, or alias, or aka, of Wicked when I write my Fiction Friday posts and I enjoy writing using different characters. Windows Live is requesting that I use a last name so I have chosen MyUniqueLife. I had used my real last name for a few days, but I just didn’t feel comfortable with seeing it out there on the Internet. The New Windows Live Upgrade asks for your last name and when I think of update, it brings to mind minute, little, subtle changes that one would hardly even notice. For example: one of the changes is that you use your last name on the site.

I have avoided using my last name on this site because I’m paranoid about it…I could put any name that I wanted to in the space that says, “Last name is required.” Who is going to be checking up on last names? I’m almost certain that the last name requirement is because of the new social networking features of The New Windows Live Spaces. This from Help “Change who can view information in your profile on Windows Live” and I have used the last name MyUniqueLife.

I wrote about some of my feelings of paranoia in this entry What’s My Real Name? And I deleted my first Windows Live Spaces site because I used my real name in the URL and couldn’t stand the feeling of paranoia. I wrote about Internet Safety in this Clubhouse post and I’m not trying to hide anything from any one. I know that Microsoft and Windows Live knows “Who I Am” my name is Jeff and I’m the author of My Unique Life in Windows Live Space: Yes, that’s me in the picture.

The legal ramifications go on and on and I don’t even want to get involved with all of this Bloggers’ Legal Guide  razzamatazz stuff. I just want to write something in my Blog every day and learn how to communicate my thoughts and feelings into words to the best of my ability.

That’s All!

Thanks for Listening,

       Jeff   

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in Windows Live Spaces. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Last name is Required!

  1. John says:

    You could always come up with a ficticious last name I mean really- who is going to know you are using a fake last name?

  2. Jeff says:

    Hi John, Thanks for stopping by and for sharing your thoughts with your comment. This is from Help Central Tips for a safer space: Keep identifying details to yourself What can I do to have a safer online experience when I use Windows Live Spaces? The more public your space is, the more cautious you should be about what you share. If you wouldn\’t give these details about yourself, your family, or friends to a strange person on a dark street, don\’t post them on your space if your permissions allow anyone to see your space.Here are some other tips for spaces that everyone can see:Don\’t post your real name (or anyone else\’s either). When you create a screen name, use one that doesn\’t attract unwanted attention or help someone find you—footballfan or musicfreak, not john14, sexysue, or gustavosydney. Don\’t include any information that puts you on the map. Don\’t mention your home address, phone number, the name of your school, where you hang out or work, or even the name of your town. Never give out your birth date, graduation year, or any other information that gives away your age.It is just a little confusing about whether or not I should use my real name or not? That’s why I am using the last name of MyUniqueLife it just feels safer.Have a Great Day and Enjoy Life!

  3. - LuzTeTT ™ says:

    Hey there Jeff.I completely understand your thoughts and I, too, being a member of the Microsoft Network (MSN) for such a long time (evidently since the beginning of time, I might add :P) and having been using every single Microsoft product asynchronously with my Microsoft Network ID, am completely shocked at the new requirement to have your last name – nay, first name even, apart of the system.Now, I may not be the most illegal conduct-prone soldier on the war of the internet, but I\’m happy with Microsoft knowing who I am, and having access to my unique name, albeit address, phone number, and even DSL ISP details… but I don\’t need my name broadcasted out there – nay, I REQUIRE that my name be strictly a legality issue – not a requirement for my profile! This recent addition is horrific. I could go by \’LuzTeTT\’ but have my first and last name in the presence of all of my Microsoft Network accounts (Technet, shopping, XBOX Live, even my OS is registered online with Microsoft) in the past, and never have my first/last name broadcasted across the world as a REQUIREMENT, but now if I want to have my details secured for usage of the Microsoft Network, I have to be known as \’LuzTeTT\’, and no other, simply because I am forced to remove my actual name due to privacy issues.I\’ve tricked the system for now… but at what cost? Am I now officially just LuzTeTT on the internet? Must my OS be registered to a fictional role-playing character? Maybe I\’m asking to be too much of an individual for the new Microsoft Live\’s tastes… but oh, it used to be like that before… why the sudden change?!Pitiful. I am prepared to move over to Yahoo! and remove my connection to my OS license – but that leads to piracy… oh well Microsoft, you\’re asking me to push myself into globalism. I guess I\’ll go global, you know, on the ocean, in a ship, with an eye-patch.LuzTeTTP.S.: Bill Gates, take your company back over…

Leave a Reply

