Christmas Advent Calendar

I enjoyed making my Twelve Days of Christmas  entries last year and I want to try and make a “Christmas Advent Calendar” this year. I wrote those entries is a non-traditional way because I started posting them on December 12th and traditionally it should start on the evening of December 25th. The next day is then considered the First Day of Christmas, which would be on December 26th with the Epiphany being on January 6th.

I tend to do things in my own way and my Christmas Advent Calendar, if I continue to keep making this, won’t be any different. I’ll just have to wait and see if I get inspired to keep making this calendar or not? I’m hoping that by starting to make this calendar today that it will give me something to concentrate on and write about during these days before Christmas. Because I’m starting to make this calendar so late in the month I need a way to get caught up to date.

I was watching this History of the Holidays: Christmas video and it gave me the idea to start my calendar with the twelve Smiley Central Icons from horoscopes and the twelve months of the year. To try and make some kind of a relationship between Christianity and Paganism when it talked about the Yule beginnings of Christmas as it is related to the winter solstice. That made me think of astrology and the zodiac and using Smiley faces for my calendar. So to get caught up to date with the making my calendar I’m going to start it all off with the twelve signs of the zodiac:

I have absolutely no idea how I’m going to get this calendar to work out? Here is what the Beliefnet Interactive Advent Calendar looks like:

And on their calendar for the 13th day it says “Christmas in an Interfaith World” so I’m going to use this Icon for today:

Then Peter began to speak: “I now realize how true it is that God does not show favoritism but accepts men from every nation who fear him and do what is right. Acts 10:34-35

I am so unsure of myself about using the smiley face Icons for my calendar and associating astrology and religion on the same page, but the relationship between heaven and earth is very different too. I hope that my calendar doesn’t offend anyone because that isn’t my intent.

Thanks for Listening,

       Jeff 

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in Religious. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Advent Calendar

  1. Pingback: Writing and trying to say Something! | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

Leave a Reply

