It’s very hard to Write

 Today’s title and writing prompt is courtsey of Paul over at the Write Anything site, and his article is titled Hard graft. Now I had no idea what his title meant? So I did an Internet search on the word “Graft”, and I found this definition under the word Autobiography: “(from the Greek, αὐτός-autos self + βίος-bios life + γράφειν-graphein to write) is a book about the life of a person, written by that person.” Or this under the word graft: “Origin: 1350–1400; earlier graff, ME graffe, craffe < OF graife, greffe, graffe < LL graphium hunting knife (L: stylus) < Gk grapheion, deriv. of gráphein to write; so called from the resemblance of the point of a (cleft) graft to a stylus”. So I’ve learned a new meaning for the word graft “to write”.

Now, I don’t call myself a writer instead this is what I say:

I consider myself a writer only by default: Because I am writing this and you are reading it, then I guess that makes me a writer.”  

But to even use Paul’s term of describing myself as an “amateur writer” is taking things a little bit too far, if you ask me. I’ve made a commitment to myself to write every day, not because, I think I that I can write. But because I enjoy the mental relief that I feel from getting my thoughts out of my head and onto the page. It’s the therapeutic value from writing therapy that I enjoy most. That’s not to say that the therapy from writing is the only reason, and I think Paul’s article says a lot about the other reasons people may write.

Most of my writing in this post today is copied from Wikipedia and the Dictionary about the word graft. But the real reason I’m writing about all of this today is to make note of Paul’s great writing about writers. And of course my “delusions of grandeur” for posting this as my blog entry and writing practice for today. This entry should tell you how very hard it is for me to write, and that’s why my blog theme for this year is Writing just to Write!

Thanks for Listening,

       Jeff   

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s very hard to Write

  1. Jeff says:

    This is from my post today titled Good Karma Email: http://myuniquelifespace.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!3D28BACBD4BDF253!7693.entryIn my post yesterday I didn’t do the “Hard Work” or “Hard Graft” (British Slang work; labor) that I should have done, and this quote: ”When you realize you’ve made a mistake, take immediate steps to correct it.” Has made me want to try and correct the mistake that I’d made. But it also brought to mind one of My Writing Goals: “Don\’t take Writing/Blogging too seriously, have fun!” and that’s exactly what I’m going to do!Have a Great Day and Enjoy Life!

  2. Pingback: Good Karma Email | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

Leave a Reply

