The Columbus Day Holiday!

 There just doesn’t seem to be much excitement associated with “The Columbus Day Holiday!” Maybe it is because of the fact that it’s one of those Federal holidays setup for the “Second Monday in October” and it “Honors Christopher Columbus, traditional discoverer of the Americas. In some areas it is also a celebration of Italian culture and heritage. (traditionally October 12); celebrated as American Indian Heritage Day and Fraternal Day in Alabama; celebrated as Native American Day in South Dakota.” It is celebrated as one of the Public holidays in the United States, and most people don’t get the day off work.

What is a holiday if you have to work? It is just another day but there is a select group of people that get the day off with pay. Not too exciting for the rest of the people that have to work. But maybe I just don’t get it? To me a holiday is a day of celebration which usually means you get the day off with pay. I’ve tried several times earlier in the day today to write about this holiday and I just couldn’t do it. These are my previous post about the holiday if your interested in read them:

Maybe I’m writing this way because I’ve been having a hard time writing anything at all, or maybe it’s because I think a holiday means you don’t have to work. But I’m Writing just to Write and this is my writing practice for today!

I hope that you had a great holiday today and as always Enjoy Life! 

Thanks for Listening,

       Jeff

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in Holiday/Occasion. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Columbus Day Holiday!

  1. Pingback: On This Columbus Day | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

  2. Pingback: Today is Columbus Day | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

  3. Pingback: There Is No Place Like Home | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

Leave a Reply

