To blog, or not to blog: That is the Question!

  Who hasn’t asked themselves this question, “To blog, or not to blog: That is the Question!” I read Finn’s post today titled Making A Choice. And this is her opening paragraph: “I have been doing a lot of thinking about this space lately. What to write, what not to write. Whether to write at all. Depending on my mood or what’s going on, I go from wanting to put something up every day to just taking it all down. It’s something I’ve been struggling with for a while. I’ve become a bit disillusioned with blogging and where I fit in the blogosphere as a whole.”

I’ve copied her words from the post just in case the unthinkable happens and she decides to remove her blogs. Imagine how foolish I’d look writing about a blog entry that doesn’t exists, and that happens all the time. I just loved reading her words today as I’ve had many of the same thoughts as she has written about. What if William Shakespeare would have deleted his writing like:

To be, or not to be: that is the question:
Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer
The slings and arrows of outrageous fortune,
Or to take arms against a sea of troubles,
And by opposing end them?

That would’ve deprived the world of his great literature, but if we share our thoughts with the world, are we denying them of any less than our own minds, ideas, and thoughts? The words we share may seem meaningless to some, but they could be the inspiration to a future writer or just to help others cope with the same mindset. I’ve been trying to write something in my blog now every day for 1,080 consecutive days in a row. Giving up on writing is always ever-present in my thoughts, but yet I continue to type.

As this button is counting down my blogoversary date of November 25th the thoughts of just calling it quits and giving up on trying to write every day is so tempting. But giving up on writing is just too easy. The hard part is overcoming my introverted personality, and putting my thoughts and feelings into words; sharing my life with you!

Thanks for Listening,

       Jeff      

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To blog, or not to blog: That is the Question!

  1. Happy says:

    I hope I remember your blog-a-versary. So understand the questioning about whether or not to blog, which is about whether or not to write words, report cool stuff, post photographs/graphics or whatnot. Share the feelings. Yet reading your post reminded me of long ago about some of original ideas (of many) to go public was to try and to be brave enough to share with an unknown public, to write with a purpose rather than burying stuff in journals, to love writing as playtime and to read other blogs. So I did. Your blog was one of earliest I read and when I saw how much you wrote/managed (photographs, smiley icons) I thought and felt inspired to at least post a poem. I could see you had been brave and I was still diddling about considering whether or not to have a blog (although didn\’t really know what a blog was – LOL). So there is, maybe, blogger fatigue but even bloggers/writers/artists are allowed a holiday now and again? Take care Jeff.

  2. Pingback: Today is my Birthday! | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

  3. Pingback: I just love using the word That! | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

Leave a Reply

