Don’t Have a Critical Spirit!

 On this very cold (21º) gray skied Sunday morning in February Joel Osteen’s message is a repeat titled “Don’t Have a Critical Spirit!” An if you’d like to read my previous entry on his broadcast today please Click Here to read it. Now I could have a critical spirit and say, “Oh great not another repeat,” but I’m not. There is always more to get out of Joel’s messages as I watched and listened to him again today. Joel talked about having a critical eye and seeing things in a negative light or very negatively. 

This made me think of a picture from an Email titled “Look Closely At This Photo” that I want to share with all of you today:

Because having a critical spirit is how we look at things or perceive what our eyes tell us. Now I’ve titled this work of art “Jesus an optical collage Photograph” because our mind focuses on the many different scenes from within what our eyes see.

And I couldn’t help but want to associate this picture with one of Joel’s quotes of the Scripture today from Matthew about Judging Others. We may all see something different in this picture. But we shouldn’t judge what other people may think, see, or say, because it is different from what we may perceive.

Even me associating this picture with Joel’s message could be negatively misconstrued today, but really that is what he’s talking about. Some people have become so critically minded that any thing one may do will not be right. See the good qualities in others and not the bad, just makes life easier for all concerned.           


This is the information from the podcast page about today’s message Don’t Have a Critical Spirit  by Joel Osteen:

In life, no matter how much good there is you can always find something bad if you look for it. You can develop an eye for the good or you can develop a critical eye.

Scripture says, “To the pure all things are pure.” If you can’t ever see anything right, you drive down the freeway and only see the traffic, construction and potholes and never the beauty, if you only see the scratch on the floor and never the amazing house, if you never see what people do right and only what they do wrong, it’s time to clean your window; the way you view life.

When we let a critical spirit rise up and start magnifying the wrong things and think thoughts like, “Why do they dress like that? What’s their problem? If I were them, I wouldn’t do that”, our spirit is being polluted and we’re hurting ourselves in the long run. When we are critical and judgmental, we are sowing seeds for others to be critical and judgmental back towards us.

God longs to continually bless us and take us higher and higher in all aspects of life, but we have to make sure we’re doing our part by keeping our heart pure, our mouth free of gossip and our minds free of judgment.

Make a decision not to be a faultfinder because that can keep you from your destiny. Just as one develops a habit of seeing the worst, you can train yourself to see the best in others. There is good in every situation.


Don’t have a critical spirit be blessed and Enjoy Life!

Thanks for Listening,

       Jeff

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in Religious. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t Have a Critical Spirit!

  1. Happy says:

    Glad clarified critical spirit described as needless faultfinding.I think a critical spirit is necessary when needed to evaluate injustice and then act, with God\’s assistance. To just accept, er, I sometimes get muddled by this nonjudgementalness mantra.Be always nonjudgemental?

  2. Jeff says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Happy Flower, and in answer to your question: I always like to ask myself, “What would Jesus do?” But it is not always easy not to judge others and I liked what this site has to say about: What does the Bible mean that we are not to judge others?http://www.gotquestions.org/do-not-judge.htmlBe blessed and Enjoy Life!

  3. Pingback: Previous entries from this Date | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

Leave a Reply

