Wicked’s Arbor Day Story!

 Wicked is in one of those I don’t feel like writing today moods, so on this Fiction Friday we have a previously written post with a new title of “Wicked’s Arbor Day Story!”

I am a Tree…I am not just any tree! I am the tree in Wicked’s backyard, and to be more precise a silver maple tree. Like Rodney Dangerfield I feel like, “I don’t get no respect”.

Do you know how ecologically precious I am? My favorite poem is “Trees” by Joyce Kilmer, and even Alfalfa of Our Gang  knows about this poem as you can see by this video. (This is a great video but it has been removed due to terms of use violation.)

I have deep roots in the community, and my branches spread wide so that my leaves can collect sunlight, and through the process of photosynthesis I give off the oxygen that you need to breathe. I feel fortunate to have my voice being heard today because my fellow brothers’ and sisters’ voices aren’t being heard.

It seems that every time the word progress is mentioned we trees are the ones that have to give our lives. Do you realize that you’re only hurting yourselves and the ecosystem of the planet every time you kill a tree? I don’t think that you do or you wouldn’t keep doing it!

I personally have been around for 89 years, you’ll have to excuse me for being so young, because some of us trees live to be 1000s of years old. I shake in my roots every time the Power Companies tree trimmers come to prune my branches. I worry that they’re going to recommend that I be removed (or killed) for the sake of safety.

I know the writing prompt for today said, “Write about a tree” but I thought you would like to hear what the tree itself had to say.

The End

Wicked visited the Arbor Day Foundation site for inspiration today, but that didn’t help him with a new story for today. He also used this Tree Benefits Calculator and found out the tree added $53 to the value of his house. But he feels like the tree is priceless. This History Channel video was informative about how Arbor Day was founded, and Wicked has planted many trees on his property up north on this day!

Thanks for Listening,

       Jeff

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in Fiction Friday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wicked’s Arbor Day Story!

  1. Pingback: What’s Happening Today? | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

  2. Pingback: The Broken Links | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

Leave a Reply

