The Broken Links

I feel like I need to apologize for all “The Broken Links” at my site, and I read this article about How to Avoid Broken Links. Although I don’t have any control over whether or not these links remain viable or will take you to where I’d intended them to take you. A case in point was in yesterday’s reposting of a Fiction Friday entry with the title of Wicked’s Arbor Day Story! When I originally wrote this story I’d put a link to an Our Gang Little Rascals YouTube video which had Alfalfa singing the Joyce Kilmer poem Trees.

But now when you click that link you get this message: “This video has been removed due to terms of use violation.” So I added this to my story about the link: (This is a great video but it has been removed due to terms of use violation.) What else can I do? I’ve done searches to try and find the video without success. The closest I got to finding anything was this A Poem Lovely as a Tree, which has bits of audio from the song.

And I’ve got so many broken links at my site from YouTube videos and other links that it makes me wonder: Why I keep linking in my writing? But I guess that is just the chance you take when you use links in your writing. I try to repair broken links when I find them, but some links cannot be repaired. I still remember Alfalfa singing the Trees poem video, but some of what these broken links were linked to are gone from my memory.

Thanks for Listening,

       Jeff 

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in Computers/Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

