Writing about the Past

 Today I thought about “Writing about the Past” and as soon as I post these words from this entry they will be in the past. Although we can only live in the “Now” at this very moment, and the moment is gone. We cannot live in the past and the future is yet to be. One of my favorite things about writing each day…Is to look back at my previous posts from this date and to reminisce of days gone by. Last year on this date my entry was titled In remembrance of the Edmund Fitzgerald, and I posted a picture I’d taken of the plaque from Whitefish Point; copying the words from this plaque and posting them in my blog.

The year before that it was Talking to Myself!I often feel like I’m just “Talking to Myself!” When I’m writing in my blog every day, and that’s just fine with me, although I would like to meet you. I had all kinds of hopes and ideas about what blogging every day was going to do in my life: Visions of learning how to communicate my thoughts into writing and making a lot of new friends online. I’m not saying that I haven’t met a lot of new friends, but I thought that I would make more connections with people than I have at this point.”

The year before that I was talking about Bobby’s Broken Heart! And I really liked my horoscope from that entry and I am reposting it:

Scorpio

Whether you use a pen, pencil, stylus or keyboard, any writing you do today should not be wasted. Wring every ounce of creativity out of your brain to make your messages more interested and meaningful. Do not deliver the expected ‘hi, how are you doing?’ right now — that’s too plain to accurately communicate what’s going on in your mind, and it’s not going to get anyone excited. But if you employ some simple rhymes, vivid descriptions and other creative touches, you will stand apart.

My blogoversary is going to be on the same day as Thanksgiving this year so that means that there will be a big parade to celebrate the date. Oh, there goes that great big ego of mine again as I’m writing about the past!

Thanks for Listening,

       Jeff

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in Blogging. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing about the Past

  1. . says:

    yes that\’s right Jeff, all we can do is live for the "now". I will miss your space but I think it wont be closed in march, I think that you just wont be able to blog here any more but what you have going back to 2006 will remain. I may be wrong, but thats what I understood when they posted msn letter.

  2. . says:

    Hi Jeff, having just received a new letter from microsoft, it looks like your space will be gone in march 😦

  3. Pingback: Making it up while Writing | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

  4. Pingback: Happy Thanksgiving Day on my Blogoversary | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

Leave a Reply

