Are you making too much of Writing?

Writing by Candle Light Goal Today’s question, “Are you making too much of Writing?” Is one that I ask myself all the time. This writing prompt came to mind after reading this article and the proceeding comments that Question Markfollowed what was said. But what I wanted to share today is this quote: “’What does it take to be a writer?’ He said, ‘Being a writer, is I think, 90% psychology and 10% everything else.’” from a previous post I’d made. These psychological barriers that we’ve placed in our minds play havoc with our ability to just let go and Express Yourself with your words in writing. This is one of the reasons I’ve chosen this blog theme of Writing just to Write because I’m always making a big deal about writing a few words each day.

There is a realization of one’s own ability as we write: Facing the fact that, this is who we are, which can be devastating to our egos. Getting over this barrier in our minds can be a very difficult thing to do…I struggle quite frequently with the thought Who wants to read this!  but evidently I do because I’m writing it. But you get the idea of what I’m saying, Right?

I’m a relatively new blogger here in WordPress, but I’ve been trying to post or to write something every day now consecutively; today marks my 1533rd day. Not that I’ve contributed anything to the literary world with what I write about. But just for the simple fact that I’m learning how to write by writing. Trying to Enjoy Life each day by sharing what’s on my mind with the words on the page.

Thanks for Listening,

       Jeff  

My Unique Life in Windows Live Space | Writing just to Write!

About Jeff

I started my Blog on November 25, 2006 and I wanted a Web page where I could "Learn Something New!" Windows Live Spaces made it so easy that even I could do it. I made a commitment to myself to write something in my Blog every day. My writing challenge ended on May 23, 2012.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Are you making too much of Writing?

  1. democ11 says:

    It’s a bold claim that you write just to learn writing. Because my first language is not English and I want to learn English more I have also to write whatever I can as a practice. But there should be the incentive of someone else reading what you write. As I fear that what I write might not be interesting to others I can not summon the determination to begin writing.

  2. democ11 says:

    Jeff. The font which you have used for your web log text is very hard to read. I think that you have to choose another font that can be easily read. I can read your posts with difficulty.
    I addition, when I try to open your wordpress weblog from windows live a smart phishing filter alert appears on the window and whatever I do I can’t open your wordpress weblog. That might be the reason you have lost some of the hits you had been receiving before you moved to wordpress.

  3. kolembo says:

    Woah, wait a minute! You’ve blogged every day since 2006?!

    That’s incredible, hat’s off. What have you learned? Why do you keep doing it? This is my very first attempt at blogging anywhere, and I’m exhausted.

    I want to do it because I want to do it and I can’t wait for the end of the year. The postaday blog is turning out to be personal topic answers but that’s good enough for me because I run a poetry blog also every day, which is brutal!

    I would really like to hear from you…what it was like the first year, how it’s changed over the years, what you’ve gotten, what keeps you going.

  4. Pingback: Questions from a Comment | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

  5. Pingback: Having some fun Writing | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

  6. Pingback: Easy for You: Not for Me | My Unique Life in Windows Live Space

Leave a Reply

